Ben, our Canadian missionary friend, picked us up and took us to church in Port-au-Prince with his wife and 3 kids. It twas nice to talk to people who actually spoke a language I could comprend and who knew practical things about living in Haiti.

After church they drove us back to their house and we ate lunch and carrot cake and COLD TANG, mmmph that was delish. They showed us some interesting contraptions like a solar oven and natural water filter. Then the family took us to the beach resort which was about a quarter mile away. I was stoked to jump in the ocean but the joy was short lived when within a minute I was getting stung by jellyfish. Sooo we played in the pool. The sensation of cool water colliding against my dewy skin was a bit too much to describe in this writing.

The orphanage opened Sunday night with a nice ceremony and took in its first 4 boys and suprisingly 1 girl. There were cheese puffs and popcorn and crackers for everyone. I will post some pictures of tucking in the first orphan and pictures of other orphans including a surprising shirt choice by one young boy....


Great night, lovely reminder of why I am here...



Leave a Reply.