We are painting the outside of the orphanage and putting on a medical clinic. We have a team from Savannah here and they have 2 doctors on the team. So after painting today, we took the orphans on a walk with some of the younger people from the team. After showing the orphans the green bridge, we begin to walk back. We passed the cemetery on the right and walked another 20 yards. Then a low, all tree ruffling shake.

Thoughts in my head, with concern growing expedientially, frantically looking for a cause:

"Is that a truck?"
"Is it a semi?"
"Is there a stampede coming?"

After about several seconds the initial continuous shake grew to a full on violent rumble. I was barely able to stand. It was shaking so hard my vision was blurry. It literally felt as though God was shaking the earth in his hand. I look over to Jean Lubeans, a 5 year orphan, standing in front on a concrete wall 20 feet away falling over like wave break. I yell out and try to gather myself to run. He steps out and barely escapes the crashing wall. I run over and take his hand and any others I can find. We drop down huddled in the middle of the road. I look around at everyone else, faces painted with shock. Then, like a ripple effect, it slowly fades out. From start to finish, about 45 seconds to a minute of shaking.

We get up. No one is hurt. Distant screams and shouts.

There is a spirit of panic in the air. We need to get back to the compound. As everyone grabs a kid and speed walks the half-mile back, I assess the surrounding damage. Almost every single house has at least one wall down. People are screaming and crying. I get back to the compound and help one of the doctors stitch up a woman’s forehead.


We have experienced about 40 aftershocks since the initial shake. Even as I am writing this the house shakes.

From everything I have heard, Port-Au-Prince got rocked. It’s dark there now, powers out. Estimates like half the buildings are down in some places. Won’t know for sure til the morning light shines.

Please be praying. I know of one hospital that has completely collapsed. Houses destroyed. People are trapped in rumble. This country is always on the edge of complete chaos. Pray for our safety. Get your friends to pray too.

God’s might and power were on display today.

It forced me down on my knees with fear and trembling.    

Pray for Haiti. Pray for us. 

1/12/2010 11:04:48 am

I've been thinking about you guys since the earthquake happened. glad to hear you're alright, and praying for you all as well.

God love you for seeing His might in it.

Reply
Heather Jones
1/12/2010 11:25:31 am

Hey- glad to hear you guys are okay- I'll be praying!

Reply
1/12/2010 11:41:59 am

Praying. Praying. Praying.

Reply
Joy
1/12/2010 11:42:48 am

Praying for all of you. Helping in the way I can.May the Almighty protect and bless all of you. I pray humanity can change to share with each other instead of thinking only of the self.Joy

Reply
Landon
1/12/2010 11:43:40 am

Hey man let me know if there is anything I can do or what y'all need. Take care my friend.

Reply
Kate
1/12/2010 11:51:55 am

Thanks for your post. I'm waiting to hear word from a mission I visit 3-4 times a year in Delmas. My husband and I are adopting two girls from there. I'm searching the internet for info & I appreciated hearing an account of what's happening in Haiti even if I don't know you personally. Where are you living? Just curious how close to Port au Prince you are. May God give you divine peace and strength for the days ahead.

Reply
1/12/2010 01:31:13 pm

May God Bless you all. I will be praying for you all and the people of Haiti. I am so touched my this. God is SO POWERFUL and although we may not understand his plan, Everything happens for a reason. I accept that and I believe God will take care of us through it all. If I could come there to help I definitely would....until then, May God be with you :-)

Reply
Deanna Hik
1/12/2010 01:48:35 pm

Do you the state of any of the Foyer de Sion orphanages? Fontamara? Our children are there that we are adopting and cannot get through.

Reply
David Hamilton
1/12/2010 01:55:33 pm

My church has 11 people there helping at an orphanage run by Bill Manaserro it's called Child Hope Int'l. Is there any way to find out if they are alright? God bless you for what you are doing there. All of us here believe with all our hearts that everyone of you, including our team, are there because God called you there to help, for such a time as this. Bless you.

Reply
Milye
1/12/2010 03:16:49 pm

my heart and prayers are with you and everyone in Haiti.

i can't even imagine what you all lived today. and even when all i can do is sit here and watch the news, i'll pray for all of you, for your safety.
my thoughts are with all of you.

God bless you.

Reply
Jemma Ewins
1/12/2010 06:19:44 pm

So glad you weren't hurt! will keep praying for God's strength.

Reply
Katie
1/12/2010 07:08:31 pm

I'm still in shock... I'm so glad to hear exactly how everything is there with yall... that the team is safe and the orphans are safe. What an emotional roller coaster Jeremy. You are such a strong person and I pray everyday for you and the compound. I've never heard of so much coverage on Haiti ever in my life. This is a blessing in disguise over time. Love you Jer.

Reply
1/12/2010 08:19:04 pm

Thanks for your account. Frightening to think of what so many people have gone through in Haiti in the past 14 hours. We can only pray that God's will will be done for the country. And pray that help comes quickly to those desperately needing it.
I pray you will find much strength and motivation to continue the work you are doing.
God bless,
Sandra

Reply
Marisol Harrington
1/12/2010 10:36:50 pm

Hello, you do not know me personally but I know a friend of yours and I would like you too know you and your family are in my prayers.
God bless,
Marisol Harrington

Reply
1/12/2010 10:41:06 pm

know that I am praying for you and all of Haiti. I know that God has put you guys there for such a purpose as this and know how blessed you guys should be to be there at a time like this.

God is HUGE and bigger then an earthquake; always know that I am praying for all of YOU.

you guys ARE AMAZING DUDE.

Reply
10/20/2012 05:09:08 pm

Really your blog is very interesting. it contains great and unique information. I enjoyed to visiting your blog. It's just amazing.. Thanks very much

Reply
1/12/2010 10:52:24 pm

Just wanted to know that there are prayers going in South Africa for all of you there and the orphanage and the country. "... God will sustain." as Jay said in his email. Keep us updated bro.

Reply
1/13/2010 12:20:01 am

Praying from Dallas, TX. So glad the babies were safe. Praise God for His timing. He truly is the Father of the fatherless.

Reply
katie heard day
1/13/2010 12:31:22 am

prayers to you from someone from your mandarin pres past! may god give you strength and courage and hope as you serve with your haitian brothers and sisters!

Reply
1/13/2010 01:42:04 am

Incredible story of God's protection and provision for you guys. And I'm confident that He will continue to use you to bring restoration to your community.

Reply
1/13/2010 02:56:55 am

Hi! Glad to hear you guys are OK. Could one of you e-mail me? I'm Jeff and I'm a reporter at The Times-Union in Jacksonville. Would love to let our readers know about you guys.

Reply
Kelly Eckert
1/13/2010 03:57:08 am

Thanks for the post and an update from some small portion of Haiti. Praying fervently in hope and restoration for all in Haiti, and that God's presence and provision radiates throughout.

Reply
Karl and Judith
1/13/2010 04:06:04 am

My family did missionary work in Haiti when I was young. I can only imagine the 'usual' anguish in Haiti time 1,000. We are in Atlanta and will be praying specifically for your group. Please continue to keep us updated. My husband may be coming down to assist in relief (aligned with a Haitian church in Atlanta) If there is any opportunity/need with you please let us k now.

Reply
Ann Mullen
1/13/2010 05:13:48 am

May you all have the strength to withstand this force of nature! May all the help you require be there when you need it. May all the needs that you and all who are involved be met and may you see the light that is already shining down on all that you do. Keep the faith for surly you are taken care of and will be always be. Keep shining and prayers are showering down upon you even as you despair.

Blessings,
Ann

Reply
Cheryl
1/13/2010 06:56:49 am

what can I say...unbelievable the devastation; praying that your team, Charles, his team have our Lord's peace and strength as you minister to those whose lives have been shattered. Thanks for loving on, reassuring, comforting "the boys" as you all go through the days ahead. A special hug to Peterson

Reply
Lynne Ferguson
1/13/2010 07:03:15 am

Just want you to know you guys are in my thoughts and prayers. Please let Elliot and Jay know I am praying for you!
Love,
Lynne

Reply
Meredith Buice
1/13/2010 08:02:58 am

Jeremy~ My thoughts and prayers go out to you and your team. I saw your link on a friends facebook today and decided to check it out. I really enjoyed reading your blogs. I think it is so wonderful what you are doing there.
Meredith

Reply
Beth Carter
1/13/2010 12:10:30 pm

Hey I just saw a report from your mother on First Coast News and will be praying for you, your work, and the people of Haiti. I have been to Haiti to work in orphanages a couple of times and love the people there and can see why you have been drawn to the nation. I will continue to be in prayer and will hopefully be coming to help in recovery ASAP. God Bless.

Reply
Sonya Finch
1/13/2010 12:32:33 pm

I just saw a report on First Coast News about your mission and your blog. I am praying for you and for all of the people affected by this devastation.
For now I can only make a monetary donation, but I hope to be able to make a trip to help in the recovery process.
God Bless, stay safe.

Reply
Stephanie
1/13/2010 12:40:00 pm

I just heard about your story on the news here in Jax. Your post are amazing to read, you are doing God's work. I'll being praying for you.

Reply
Paige Beaugh Grymes
1/13/2010 01:01:26 pm

Y'all (Americans and Haitians) are weighing heavily on my heart. I'm lifting up many prayers for you all. Stay strong, couragous, and full of faith.

Reply
adrienne
1/13/2010 11:56:27 pm

praying for you & everyone. keep the faith.

Reply
Whitney
1/14/2010 06:10:31 am

Praying for you all, bro.

Reply
Susan
1/14/2010 09:31:32 pm

Be Strong and Courageous...and know that He will never leave or forsake. We are joined together in the covenant of Truth and prayer. Thank you for being willing to pick up your mat and go.

Reply
12/2/2010 02:43:20 pm

Thanks for your information !

Reply
12/21/2010 08:23:18 pm

I am grateful to you for sharing this information.

Reply
1/4/2011 09:23:23 am

Happy new year

Reply
5/4/2011 01:15:52 pm

This is really my very first time here, great looking blog. I discovered so many interesting things inside your blog especially its discussion.

Reply
5/19/2011 06:40:30 pm

Thanks for the marvelous posting! . Thanks again because it's very hard to find something similar.

Reply
5/26/2011 06:41:33 pm

What's a good topic!

Reply
6/30/2011 07:23:11 pm

thanks for your article,like your blog very much,well done

Reply
<a href="http://www.buyfashiononline.net">coach factory outlet store</a>
8/15/2011 06:48:17 pm

thanks for sharing your post with me

Reply
aisheng
9/9/2011 06:19:07 pm

<a href="http://coachbagsreviews.com">Coach Bags</a>
<a href="http://www.coachoutletreviews.com">coach outlet</a>
<a href="http://www.coachhandbagsreviews.net">Coach Handbags</a>

HAPPY

Reply
9/13/2011 02:45:29 am

You made some good points there. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog.Keep sharing and posting articles like these.This article has helped me a lot.Keep posting this stuff.

Reply
9/18/2011 12:58:09 pm

<a href="http://www.mbtschuhe-de.net/"><strong>mbt billig schuhe</strong></a> Great,I have bookmarked your blog to keep up with the new topics you will post in the future.

Reply
9/28/2011 05:03:41 pm

Great idea,had learn a lot from here,now moncler outerwear lead a winter fashion style.

Reply
10/19/2011 03:29:58 pm

Very nice post even i would say that whole blog is awesome. I keep learning new things every day from post like these. Good stuff!

Reply
moncler online
10/26/2011 10:17:07 pm

Nice post,thank you!

Reply
12/15/2011 02:52:17 pm

I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m quite certain I will learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Reply
12/22/2011 02:35:20 pm

Hello! Very pleased and honored to read your article, from your article, I never get to touch a lot of my knowledge and I am currently working on a lot of helpful information. Let me share through your learning a lot. Thanks!

Reply
1/18/2012 05:53:42 pm

even if your current life from scratch, you can do.

Reply
1/18/2012 05:53:58 pm

all fully grasp which our junior provides.

Reply
1/29/2012 10:21:21 am

Good article though so thanks it's very interesting you did lot of research before posting any new content. she flew again just a few short months after the birth as soon as she was fit!

Reply
1/30/2012 08:57:42 am

Many good view, much good of the story; What a good ending. Let a person extremely envy, read your blog make me feel good! You write the great. Is brilliant. I want to you good good study, day day up.

Reply
2/12/2012 05:09:12 pm

The post is written in exceptionally a superior way with it entails much of use in turn intended for me. I am content on the way to discover your eminent method of writing the positio.

Reply
2/15/2012 02:53:10 pm

Your article is useful for me. It is a good article.

Reply
3/7/2012 01:51:46 pm

Wow really glad i found your website, i’ll be sure to visit back now i’ve bookmarked it.

Reply
4/15/2012 07:18:45 pm

It's good to see this information in your post, i was looking the same but there was not any proper resource, than now i have the link which i was looking for my research.

Reply
4/18/2012 12:27:28 pm

This inspection a very important search problem, people think even worried that they obviously do not know.When I found a very good question would be all the same advice to your blog.

Reply
5/10/2012 12:33:53 pm

Obviously we can see that your blog is very good . Similarly, your blog article to share the many wonderful and humorous interesting ; the same time, a lot of valuable knowledge and information to share . I very much like the same time, very grateful for your wonderful sharing .

Reply
6/8/2012 06:52:05 pm

Well, speak well, very ok

Reply
6/17/2012 11:45:24 am

The day the mountain to make,the Yellow River flows into the sea the day mountains of the article the development of part of changing magic, people followed the story, in the feeling, I can say is written by the author of this article is very good

Reply
6/17/2012 11:45:59 am

Very unique theme central idea of the article, the development part, fascinating, called a rare article, after reading, as if the summer heat out of a burst of cool sea breeze, thank you

Reply
6/17/2012 11:46:28 am

Unique style of writing, the development component of the central idea of ​​the article are novel, the feeling of giving a can not say it in words, of insights, I admire

Reply
6/17/2012 04:17:11 pm

Yes, want to see is this content, I feel very lucky, content is very wonderful fun, and it is tempting, likable, the topic is very good, close to the life, the closeness to nature, and more let us know how to cherish life, cherish nature gives us all.

Reply
6/17/2012 04:20:25 pm

Ha ha, theme do bright highlight, let the reader feel of their authors, as if to hear the sound of the story, it is too good, I always feel some experience personally feeling, this feeling let I enjoy very much, like that of the works.

Reply
6/17/2012 04:23:29 pm

After reading this article, I slowly feel life hard-won, we should cherish the existing, to grasp the future, and should not spend time, fallen yourself, like this is not good. Want to learn the author's spirit is better, more thinking, positive and uplifting.

Reply
6/17/2012 06:49:20 pm

This is a very good article, others may not think so, but it seems to me it really is a wonderful article, the authors clarify his own unique to the outlook on life, and communicating method, it is worth to study.

Reply
6/17/2012 06:49:44 pm

Like you share of the article, read your article to learn many things, see the author, with a rich life experience, otherwise could not write a so good article.

Reply
6/17/2012 06:50:14 pm

Don't know why I read your article, can be you the beautiful sentences in attracted, and will be your unique life experiences struck, I think everyone should be like you so of, continuous to try new things, to enrich their life.

Reply
6/24/2012 05:50:01 pm

Have been watching your blog , and understand so many wonderful articles and learned a lot of meaningful knowledge and information . Not only that, I have come into contact with many like-minded Friends of Bo , the mutual exchange of learning , very Thank you for sharing .

Reply
6/25/2012 04:19:09 pm

Dream, I like comedy ending desire to become a major event will be focused on detail, but do not have to rigidly adhere to the section, to have a dream, even if far away ...

Reply
6/25/2012 04:26:23 pm

Dilemma when I do not know how to choose, if you well is sunny, the author of the article is simple and refined, is a worth article

Reply
6/25/2012 04:26:51 pm

Sometimes I can see very frankly, Sometimes I persistent down a bit, the author of the article say a lot of people's thoughts, thank you

Reply
7/12/2012 05:51:38 pm

The recent total attention to your blog , feel very worthy , learned a lot not previously come into contact with the valuable knowledge and information from such a good blog . More unusual is that your personal or sets out a number of ideas about your own personal views , which combines the knowledge, to highlight its value . Look forward to your updates, and thank you for sharing .

Reply
7/15/2012 10:56:38 am

I really wanted to compose a simple word to be able to express gratitude to you for all of the fantastic items you are posting on this site. My time consuming internet search has at the end of the day been rewarded with pleasant content to go over with my neighbours. I would claim that many of us site visitors actually are undoubtedly fortunate to be in a good community with so many wonderful professionals with insightful principles. I feel very happy to have seen your website page and look forward to really more exciting times reading here. Thank you once more for everything.

Reply
7/15/2012 10:58:25 am

I simply wished to say thanks all over again. I do not know the things I would’ve achieved in the absence of the entire hints documented by you regarding such question. Certainly was an absolute depressing crisis in my view, nevertheless considering your expert avenue you dealt with that forced me to jump over delight. Now i’m grateful for the help as well as hope that you really know what an amazing job you were doing training some other people thru your webblog. I am sure you have never come across any of us.

Reply
7/15/2012 11:00:13 am

I precisely wished to thank you so much once again. I am not sure what I would’ve sorted out without the actual information contributed by you concerning my industry. It was an absolute horrifying situation in my circumstances, nevertheless considering a new specialized mode you handled the issue took me to jump with happiness. Extremely thankful for the help and sincerely hope you realize what a great job you’re providing instructing most people via a site. I know that you haven’t come across all of us.

Reply
7/16/2012 06:08:37 pm

Every morning is a rebirth. A day in the most important thing is that we have to do.

Reply
7/16/2012 06:09:32 pm

If someone is powerful enough to let you down, that let them see, you also strong enough to stand up.

Reply
7/18/2012 07:09:18 pm

Interesting, the article written very well, writing technique looked very skillful and has a good sense of humor, let a person think, and let people with a cheerful mood, the feeling is very good. I like the article, the heart be thank the authors of shares.

Reply
7/18/2012 07:11:07 pm

I show heart very thank the authors share, thank he has a heart of devotion, thank he can have such attainments of heart wrote so good article. I will continue to focus on the author's other works.

Reply
7/18/2012 07:11:59 pm

Good article! It was very good, select material is very close to the life, the life around, launched a very fine narrative. Topics also very clear, very friendly, can let the reader with the attitude of the care to read such a good article.

Reply
8/12/2012 10:54:09 am

How nice this article is and how easy it is to understand your points on this topic.

Reply
8/20/2012 06:00:27 pm

How wonderful your article is excellent , I really appreciate . You to share some valuable orientation information . At the same time , I collected your blog to the some very meaningful theoretical knowledge .

Reply
10/20/2012 05:28:18 pm

Really your blog is very interesting. it contains great and unique information.

Reply
12/17/2012 06:05:57 pm

Thanks for sharing such a useful site, I will be checking it for further updates!

Reply
12/17/2012 06:06:06 pm

Thanks for sharing such a useful site, I will be checking it for further updates!

Reply
11/13/2014 04:51:35 pm

Thanks for sharing such a useful site, I will be checking it for further updates!

Reply
2/1/2015 05:12:20 pm

my children are there that we are adopting and cannot get through.

Reply



Leave a Reply.